ARF Great Mind Awards Categories

ARF Great Mind Awards Categories

Candidates for the ARF Great Mind Awards can be nominated in one of eight categories.

1) Innovation Award
For development of the most innovative research methods

The ARF recognizes the importance of research methods and techniques that are ever-evolving and innovating. This is especially true today with the availability of new and more expansive data and more informed and empowered customers. This award goes to the individual (or team) who, over the past year, has created and proven the impact of innovative new methods utilizing inventiveness, implanting new analytics and/or harnessing technology in new ways.

2) Future-Forward Award
For particular achievement in a trending topic of the day

This award is focused on learnings in the mobile space and recognizes the person or team who incorporated one or more new and innovative technique(s) and/or who implemented learnings that advance the application and effectiveness of mobile communications. This award will be judged by an ARF-recognized panel of experts in the field of mobile communications research.

3) Lifetime Achievement Award
For those who have made lifetime contributions to the industry and to the ARF

This award honors an individual who has made significant and fundamental contributions to the research industry. These contributions have had a lasting impact on the industry and have demonstrated a lifetime commitment to advancing the art and science of market research. Nominees for this category must be retired or working on a part-time basis.

4) Rising Star Award
Recognizing the next generation of research stars

Where will the next generation of thought leaders and impact players in the research profession come from? This award recognizes those who, in their first seven years of professional experience, have stood out by their contributions and young leadership. This award recognizes an exceptional contribution over the past year from a young researcher that suggests a potential for a future of greatness.

5) GfK Next Generation Award
Celebrating student researchers

In the ever-changing, fast-paced corporate world, marketing researchers must be able to think on their feet and utilize innovative ideas to address emerging business problems. This competition is designed to give North American undergraduate student researchers a chance to test their marketing knowledge by designing and executing a research project that addresses a critical issue weighing on marketers’ minds.
Find out more

6) Member Ambassador of the Year Award
Four awards, recognizing one member ambassador from each of the following: advertising agency, media company, marketing company, and research company

The ARF has an incredibly rich, diverse membership constituency of advertising agencies, media companies, marketers, and research companies. The responsibility of a member ambassador is to act as an ARF representative by encouraging active membership within the ARF and relaying important member communications to his or her company. We recognize that our Member Ambassadors have day jobs and that acting as an ARF Member Ambassador, while a strategic and distinguished role, is the acceptance of an additional and voluntary responsibility. This award goes to one member ambassador in each of our membership categories who has been truly exceptional over the past year.

7) President’s Award
For exemplary service to the ARF supporting the ARF Board, the Member Community and the Member Ambassadors

The ARF exists to serve the industry and does so based on the hard work and commitment from industry leaders who all have “day jobs.” This award goes to individuals who rise above the daily fire drills and find a way to contribute in a lasting way to the ARF, their member company, and therefore to the industry.

8) JAR Best Paper Award
In recognition of the best JAR paper published in 2013

Each year the ARF’s Journal of Advertising Research publishes approximately 50 papers. The Best Paper Award acknowledges work that has made the most significant contribution to advertising theory, with the greatest potential impact on advertising practices. In January/early February the esteemed group of experts who form the Journal’s Editorial Advisory Board vote on the winner of this prestigious award; the paper with the highest voting rating wins the award.